You can turn off retweets from individual users but what about just getting rid of them altogether? The free service Blindfold makes it easy to turn off all retweets with one handy kill switch.
After you login to Blindfold with your Twitter account, you’ll see just two buttons: Hide Retweets and Show Retweets.
All you need to do is click the Hide Retweets button and wait about 30 seconds, as Blindfold works its magic. You’ll know it’s done when the Hide Retweets button returns to how it appeared when you first loaded the site.
When you head over to Twitter, you should no longer see any retweets in your feed. As would be expected, there are a few caveats. You can still see quote tweets like this one:
We do “motion” pictures too! ? https://t.co/ug7nQtEMeM
— Kodak Camera Club (@kodakcameraclub) March 28, 2018
You’ll still see retweets when you go to someone’s profile. And it won’t hide promoted tweets. It also doesn’t hide liked tweets that appear in your feed.
And when you first turn the feature on, it might actually get rid of much of your feed that is older than 10 minutes, but that resolves itself over time. That may be a small price to pay to get retweets turned off no matter how you access Twitter.
Because Blindfold taps right into your account, unlike most browser extensions, retweets are turned off wherever you access Twitter – whether through a browser or mobile app.
If you’re looking for more ways to tailor Twitter, there are plenty of Chrome extensions to improve your Twitter experience.